K.I.S.S.I.N.G.

April 7, 2011 § 1 Comment

Continuing with the theme of ghosts, I’ve been having phantom butterflies lately. You know the feeling I’m talking about, when you revisit the sensation you had during an amazing kiss, or some other delectable physical act. More often than not, it’s something that occurred in the recent past, a memory unfaded by time. I love those sensations, the aftershocks of intimacy.

I can summon those feelings pretty easily after an occurrence, rewinding the tape in my head, and pressing play when I know the butterflies first started fluttering. However, the more time separates me from the occurrence, the more difficult it is to reprise that tingling feeling. It might start with missing snippets, and eventually degrade into a simple memory, a knowledge of such a thing having taken place. That’s usually when another one of those occurrences needs to step in to keep the momentum going.

Sadly, I’ve lost my momentum. Or so it seemed. The phantom butterflies came barging to the forefront of my consciousness despite the last occurrence being far enough in the past that it should have faded. For quite some time, it actually was a faded memory, and then inexplicably, out of nowhere, it reignited into a full-fledged case of phantom butterflies. Tried as I might I couldn’t find anything that might have triggered the last memory. Since that moment, I’ve been feeling one particular spot at the nape of my neck, POISED for an occurrence, a tremor in my hypodermis waiting, just waiting for that next chance to release the tingles down my neck straight to my back.

Weird.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to K.I.S.S.I.N.G.

  • thestuffithinkabout says:

    The head-PVR can be a tricky thing. But like actual PVRs….there’s only so much room where memories and ghosts can be stored, thankfully. Things fade, we move on and only snipits remain. It makes it awesome if you’re dwelling on things, no so awesome if you really want to remember them.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading K.I.S.S.I.N.G. at Nocci Go Lightly.

meta

