Sometimes… I tell you…

September 27, 2010 § 1 Comment

I’ve realized one thing in the last few months: life really tests your faith. I’m not talking about religion, because I’m not that religious, though I’m sure it tests that too. I’m talking about your faith in humanity, your faith in justice. Can anyone tell me why chivalry is dead? Why everyone is in such a hurry? Why people are so unhappy? That includes me. I can tell you why I’m so unhappy. Because it’s days like today that make me doubt that there is a shred of community, happiness, and joie de vivre left in people.

Before I continue, I want to apologize for the negative tone of this post, because I never intended this blog to be about anything negative – although a previous post has taken that turn. Basically, I try to keep it at a minimum here because lord knows it’s everywhere you turn these days.

A neighbour of mine (apparently since I’ve never seen her and hope never to run into her again and hope she isn’t maiming my car as I write this) just told me off. In front of her children. As I was standing in the rain, struggling to balance my umbrella in between my shoulder and my chin while carrying two big bags of groceries and a carry on I had from this weekend’s trip back home. Why? Because APPARENTLY I stole her *QUOTE*spot*UNQUOTE*. But folks, I didn’t, and in the words of Dane Cook, let’s Tarantino it.

Let me paint you a picture of my narrow street before I continue. It’s a bunch of semi-detached and smaller detached homes, mostly with laneway parking behind the houses, and a lot of street parking. I turned onto my street, drove half-way down the block (where my house is located) and noticed that lo! There are no spots available! What a surprise! This doesn’t happen all the time but peeves me when it does, HOWEVER. I internalize it and grumble to myself as I trek home from the neighbouring block (I know, I know, whiny) because what can I do? Do I have a spot assigned to me, in  my name? No. I do not. Nor does anyone else who parks on the street. That is the democratic system that is zoned parking. We all hate it on rainy, snowy, cold days. We’re all in this together.

So how on earth did we get to the scene of me stealing her *QUOTE*spot*UNQUOTE*? I’m glad you asked. I was grumbling to myself about not having a close spot on a rainy day when I had four bags (two grocery, two travel) to tote up to my place as I turned the corner on my street for the second time. There she was, a car, indicating to the right, where people park on my street, IN FRONT OF AN EMPTY SPOT. Let me repeat that, SHE WAS IN FRONT OF AN EMPTY SPOT. So I swerved around her as I saw another spot 4 cars ahead of where she was stopped. IN FRONT OF AN EMPTY SPOT. I parked my car and noticed a car inching closer to me. I figured it was another car. I was like please drivermanwomanwhoeveryouare, just let me park and I’ll give you enough space to do so behind me. And I did. Park that is. Apparently there wasn’t enough space behind me but that’s not my fault. I didn’t create cars and the sizes they come in.

I get out of my car, balancing my umbrella between my shoulder and my chin, toting my heavy travel carry-on-tote, grab my groceries, and walk toward my trunk when I hear a sound. I turn around thinking what was that? Then I hear “yeah you lady!” I turned again, completely confused as to what was going on, when the neighbourly soul who thought I was un-neighbourly yelled at me for being rude and stealing her spot. So I said what I’ve been all-caps-ing this entire time: I thought you were waiting for that empty spot. Apparently she wasn’t. She sealed it with another yelling spree of blablablayou’reveryrudeladyblabla, and backed up. Leaving me in the middle of the street, balancing my umbrella, groceries, carry-on, in the rain, completely confused as to what just happened.

This after I spent 15 minutes being cut off by other cars at the gas station because apparently there are no lineups for pumps as I was so foolishly lining up for. Line up? Why would anyone do that! It’s every car for itself in this world! This after a guy nearly sideswiped me as I attempted entering the aisle on the plane ride home. 1 small step for douchebaggery, 1 more nail in the coffin for chivalry. I’M the rude one. The pushover is the rude one.

But wait, I haven’t told you the best part! I went about my business, and walked the 10 houses between my spot and my house, and waited to see where she was going to go. Because I figured, she must be like me, angry at the fact that I stole her chances at parking closer to her house. What else could spark a tell-off like that? But she didn’t walk 10 houses down. She didn’t even walk 5 houses down. She was parked 2 god-damned houses away from where she lives. Boo effing hoo. Was the outburst worth it? Because you had to take 15 steps instead of your usual 5?

Sometimes… I tell you…

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Sometimes… I tell you…

  • thestuffithinkabout says:

    You need to toilet paper her house on Halloween. Seriously. That way you can live up to your “rude” nature according to her!

    I dislike people like this. The ones who can’t channel their anger correctly. She probably realised she couldn’t fit into the other spot and decided to take it out on you, who bypassed her while she was assessing the other parking situation.

    The sickest part (not the worst, because this all seems to be equally bad) is that she did it in front her of kids, making them think this is ok.

    Bastids!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sometimes… I tell you… at Nocci Go Lightly.

meta

