Wherein I admit being somewhat adult

August 16, 2010 § Leave a comment

One of the most physically satisfying jobs has to be window cleaning. Maybe it’s a throwback to the days when my mom would pull into the gas station and my sister would jump out to squeegee the windows clean while my mom pumped gas. There was something about that soapy water being wiped clean that made me sit back and breathe a sigh of relief. That’s what I mean by physically satisfying, that sensation that you had no idea things could get better, but they just have. It wasn’t that there was an abundance of dirt on the windows, rather the slight murkiness became obvious only when you could see the crisp outdoors. It’s more satisfying than a car wash, though I just about lost my shit every time we’d turn the corner on the pumps and punch in the code to enter the lair of the swishing and spinning rubber strips. The squeegee is the secret to bliss.

The tides have turned my friends. There’s something so ADULT about cleaning stuff and liking it that I’m forced to admit that I am somewhat of an adult. This quote from Que Sera Sera sums up how oddly satisfying it is to clean: “I just cleaned my baseboards with a special attachment and was like UUHHHHHNNNNGGG SO GOOD who am I I DON’T CARE ANYMORE.”

Hell yes.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wherein I admit being somewhat adult at Nocci Go Lightly.

meta

